What You Need To Know About Reporting a California Car Accident
November 19, 2019
It can be
tricky to determine how and at what point you should report your California accident,
especially if you are stressed because of the incident. The following
information will facilitate you in this process and will help you start working
on your recovery faster. Here, we will explain your obligations and rights
regarding how to report the matter.
At What Time To Report It
states have different thresholds as for when you must report the accident to regulatory
agencies and local authorities. California has many regulations governing when an
automobile driver have to report it. A general rule to follow is to report it
Any person is hurt in the accident and even sustained
It takes the life of anyone;
Property damages, including damage to personal property, reaches
or goes above $1,000; and,
One of the automobile drivers concerned is found operating
with no license and/or driving when intoxicated.
To whom you have
to report your accident will also differ based on your case specifics. You may
have to report it to your insurer, the police, the US Department of Motor
Vehicles, or all of them.
law makes it your duty to report this matter. Do not depend on others involved
in the accident. You have to report it inside 10 days; otherwise, California may
revoke your vehicle driving privileges.
In What Way to Report Your Accident to California DMV
The state law
necessitates that you as a motorist must report it to this department in 10 days
The accident caused the demise of someone
The value of this accident-induced damage is at least
Any person was hurt
You may not
be directly part of a deadly car accident, but even a minor collision can cause
over $1,000 in damages. Modern cars have plastic components that can cost plenty
of money to replace or repair. It is best to be very careful and report a
collision where any kind of damage is induced by any automobile involved.
Reporting it to the Motor Vehicle Department is pretty
simple. All you have to do is fill out the Form SR-1. You can do it on your
own. Your insurance company’s agent can also do it, and so can your personal injury attorney
in the event you have sustained severe injuries. Just be sure to submit the filled
form in the stipulated number of days.